GLOBART ACADEMY in the parliament

We celebrate the constitution!  Eight hours of art and criticism in the Parliament.

Not only the current Corona crisis has shown that the model of western (nation-state defined, representative) democracy is reaching its limits when it comes to global challenges.  Competence is transferred from the democratic space to experts or lobbyists.

How can the erosion of Western democracy be stopped?  What counter-models for more rather than less democracy are conceivable?  On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Austrian constitution, artists and scientists present perspectives on the possible future of democracy.  Giving visions and ideas a voice:  What better place to do that than in the Parliament?

As a second step, GLOBART will bring the committed debate on civic activities, citizen participation and empowerment to the parliament on the 10th of November to celebrate the constitution and lead it into the next century:  It's time for an update.

10. November
AUSTRIAN PARLIAMENT

Speakers

GLOBART ACADEMY im Parlament

Wir feiern die Verfassung! 8 Stunden Kunst und Kritik im Parlament.

Nicht erst die aktuelle Corona-Krise hat gezeigt, dass das Modell der westlichen (nationalstaatlich definierten, repräsentativen) Demokratie an seine Grenzen gerät, wenn es um globale Herausforderungen geht. Kompetenz wird aus dem demokratischen Raum an ExpertInnen oder LobbyistInnen abgegeben.

Wie läßt sich die Erosion der westlichen Demokratie aufhalten? Welche Gegenmodelle für ein mehr statt ein weniger Demokratie sind vorstellbar? Anläßlich des 100-jährigen Geburtstags der österreichischen Verfassung stellen KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen Perspektiven auf die Zukunft der Demokratie vor. Visionen und Ideen eine Stimme geben: Wo könnten wir das besser als im Parlament?

Die engagierte Auseinandersetzung über zivilgesellschaftliches Wirken, von Bürgerbeteiligung- und Ermächtigung bringt GLOBART im zweiten Schritt am 10. November ins Parlament um die Verfassung zu feiern und sie ins nächste Jahrhundert führen: Es ist Zeit für ein Update.

10. November
ÖSTERREICHISCHES
PARLAMENT

Referentinnen